Coconut Oil Detox – Day 1

I have three health issues I want to combat: ringworm, melasma and exhaustion/adrenal fatigue so starting today I am going to do a one week detox.

I have done tons of research and was shocked to read that melasma can also be caused by a yeast overgrowth! What?! It appears that my issues are all connected which means I can combat them all with the same treatment. I need to make my body more alkaline and starve the yeast and I am going to kick-start that with a coconut oil cleanse.

The coconut oil cleanse will be for the first 3 days – Saturday, Sunday and Monday. Then Tuesday, Wednesday Thursday I will go back to food but no sugars, grains, corn, fish, meat, coconut water, coconut sugar, tea, dairy, condiments, mushrooms, caffeine, yeast, alcohol, nuts, vinegar (except apple cider vinegar), oils (except coconut) and nothing packaged or processed. Sounds like an exhaustive list, I agree, but it’s only a week out of my life. On Friday and Saturday I will reintroduce fish, nuts, spices, eggs, and fruit if ringworm is gone (I go back to the dermatologist on Friday). On Saturday we leave for vacation in Thailand and my plan is to eat as healthfully as possible.

Here is the detox:

1- 2T of coconut oil throughout the day for a total of 12 tablespoons                                           sugarless lemonade (6 c. water + 1c. lemon juice + 1t. sea salt + Stevia to taste)                      unsweetened, plain yogurt

That’s it. Fun times ahead. I will keep you posted.

I forgot to mention that although I have been eating clean and incorporated a lot of oil into my diet in the last week, the day before I started I ate 4 rice crispie treats and 2 alfajores! I hadn’t been eating sugar or flour in quite awhile and trust me, this is not the way to start a detox.

11:52 am I have had 2T of oil so far. I am finding it hard to ingest. It is so hard to eat off a spoon. I had one glass of the lemonade. I am not hungry at all but I am a bit nauseous.

3:15 pm  Just woke up from a two hour nap but I still feel really, really tired. I increased my intake of coconut oil a few days ago in preparation (but was still eating) and I think that is what made me start getting so congested. Last night my sleep was interrupted due to post nasal drip and coughing and after a trip to the outdoor market this morning in the blazing sun I was too tired to be very productive so I took a nap. Upon waking the post nasal drip and coughing have returned. However, I am still not particularly hungry and dread consuming more tablespoons of coconut oil.

4pm 1T coconut oil. Glass of lemonade. Not hungry at all but very dizzy when I stand up too quickly from sitting or lying down. The coconut oil is so gross I have frozen some in hopes that it tastes better that way.

4:30 pm – 1 T oil.

7:30 pm – Taking coconut oil off the spoon is revolting. I heard eating it froze is like candy. I ate one. It’s not really nothing like candy but it was far, far better! 1 cube. Still not hungry though for about 3 minutes I was craving a hot dog.

7:52 pm – 2 more cubes

9 pm – Day one of my fast is coming to a close. I really should be consuming about 3-4 more tablespoons, but I just can’t. I am completely nauseous and just want to lie down.

Breakdown of Day 1:                                                                                                                         * 6T of coconut oil                                                                                                                                   * 3 glasses of sugarless lemonade                                                                                                   * no hunger                                                                                                                                        * nauseous most of the day                                                                                                               * tired                                                                                                                                                 * no unusual or excessive elimination (lighter than normal in fact)                                              * congestion and sore throat (started day before the fast) all day, coughing                               * no motivation to continue

I have done one other detox which was all raw fruits and veggies for three days. On that one I was very hungry all the time but other than that I felt fine. On the coconut oil detox I am not hungry at all (so far) but I feel sick.  One the f/v detox though I noticed on Day 3 that I felt the best I have ever felt in my whole life. It was nothing short of amazing. I still remember that so vividly. I don’t think I will get to three days on this one. In fact, I am *this* close to modifying this starting in the morning. I feel really awful which may be a die-off reaction but I might just have to add veggies back in tomorrow if I am going to be able to keep this up all week. Keep ya posted.

This entry was posted in health, Joy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Coconut Oil Detox – Day 1

  1. Christa Anderson says:

    I’m sorry but this made me laugh so so much ONLY because I too think it is horrid to swallow coconut oil! I have nearly vomited in doing so. (I also have the dreaded melasma curse)

  2. Ginny says:

    If you melt the coconut oil, add plain cocoa powder and a little stevia…and refrigerate…you have a dark chocolate that is MUCH yummier than oil in a spoon! It only takes 10 minutes!

  3. Noel says:

    Oh and one more thing do u recommend to use 1t. sea salt ? i don’t really like it much. but does it help?

  4. Noel says:

    which stevia did you use? is in the raw ok. I want to get rid of ringworm.

Kind words only, please! :)

