Monthly Update

I need to record some things because my little girl is growing up way too fast!  I used to do these every month and since this blog is to record our lives together I know they are important so I am bringing them back!  It’s so hard to see her growing up so quickly. She isn’t the sweet, little baby I met at 19 months.  Well, she’s still very, very sweet but she is big and opinionated and strong-willed.  She’s curious and independent and hilarious.  I need to write down more of what she says but here are some things that she has said and done lately.

Vocabulary                                                                                                                                             I am amazed at her vocabulary, especially since she was nearly two when she came home. Nearly every day she says new words. It’s so funny to me because when I first brought her home I taught her everything (hat, baby, milk, doggie, etc.) but now she is learning so much at school.  She has her own way of saying some words, too though, that I must get down:

noonles (noodles)                                                                                                                                mayve (maybe)                                                                                                                                        tick tock (lipstick or chapstick)                                                                                                     ‘squito (mosquito)                                                                                                                  HaddinaCat (Cat in the Hat)
                                                                                                            pewter(computer)                                                                                                                               wovie (movie)                                                                                                                                    pong trees (palm trees)                                                                                                               yeddow (yellow)

Why?                                                                                                                                                      She asks why all the time.  I guess it’s the age but it is every day and interestingly enough it happens most often when we are reading stories.  She stops me on every page to ask me a question about the text or the illustrations and her questions sometimes stump me and are often hilarious!

She is Ms. Independent.  She insists on trying things and doing things by herself and is always proving to me that she can do something when I express doubt that she can.  Just like she scared me when she learned how to dismantle the child safety locks, it now scares me that she knows how to unlock the front door.  I got a chain installed.(talking to the neighbors in the hallway)

She is just as naughty as she wants to be.  I don’t know how many times I have told her to not draw on herself!

Loves                                                                                                                                           dancing                                                                                                                                                 music                                                                                                                                                   singing                                                                                                                                            jumping                                                                                                                                           running                                                                                                                                               trying to balance on one foot                                                                                                       riding her bike                                                                                                                                   Hide ‘n Seek                                                                                                                                          her bedtime friends (Hippo, Ella, Doggie, Teddy Bear, Pink Baby, HaddinaCat & Black Baby)                                                                                                                                                Neigh                                                                                                                                                                 dogs (well all animals really!  She loves dogs and cats especially but she also likes to run and pet all the stray animals in the neighborhood!  Scary!)

sweets                                                                                                                                                     cheese & yogurt                                                                                                                                        coffee                                                                                                                                                         the swimming pool                                                                                                                        princess dresses

                                                                                                                            pink                                                                                                                                                     make-up & nail & jewelry

(Look! I have a ring!)

nail polish                                                                                                                                               wearing dresses!  (if I put her in something else she always says with a pout, ‘I not have a dress!! Why?’)                                                                                                                                  coloring & drawing & cutting & writing me notes                                                                              watching cartoons

and reading books (current faves: A Mother for Choko, Clifford books, The Snowy Day, Hairy McClary books and all books by Julia Donaldson who my British colleague turned me on to)

She is super strong.  It’s strange how strong she is.  I have to seriously block myself when we are rough-housing cause I am seriously afraid that she will knock out a tooth or break a bone (mine).  I can predict when one of her arms or legs will come flying but I worry about her fragile, unsuspecting friends.  I need to put her in ballet or martial arts or some sport that teaches self-control and grace.

She is learning about days of the week and time in class and she uses this new knowledge in our conversations correctly sometimes but often she’s all mixed up!  Her favorite is ‘next weekend’.  She says things like, “I went to school next weekend” or “I was two next weekend.”  They are also teaching the life cycle so she is talking about death a lot.  I wish they hadn’t taught this to her so young!  I don’t like having to explain to her about death, but it’s a fact of life so why not now you could say but to me it just feels too soon to strip away her innocence about life.  Sigh.  Do they have to grow up and learn all the harsh realities about the world?  I just want to protect her!

She is very affectionate and loving.  She  will often say, “Mommy I just need to hug you” or  “I want to kiss you!”  Sometimes, though, she goes on a kissing rampage and won’t stop!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Monthly Update

  1. Jessi says:

    I love this as a monthly topic. It’s nice to be able to see her growing and changing from afar… especially after seeing over Christmas break and realizing how much time has flown by!!!! Love you both

Kind words only, please! :)

