Project 365

So, you heard of these project 365 thingys, right?  You pledge to do something each day of the year and in the blogging world you blog about it.  It’s a good way to get you to stick to something if you know you have an audience and a group of other people doing it, too, to support you along the way.

Or that’s the theory I suppose.

I tried it before –posting a photo daily– and, well, I failed.  I couldn’t keep it up. So, what do I know?  I just found out today you are only supposed to put one space after a period!  So hey, call me crazy but I actually still like the idea and I’m going to do it again!  Nothing beats a failure but a try (according to my grandmother) and I am living proof if you want something bad enough and continue to try for it, it will eventually come to fruition.  I’ve wanted to live abroad for the past 15 years and I am finally here!  And to be honest, a photo a day shouldn’t be that challenging.  Much harder to write a blog post every day.  Or move 8,000 miles from all that’s familiar.  Snapping a quick photograph (and posting it sometime during the week) is manageable.  I am excited to see how it unfolds.

Meanwhile, I have to restrain myself from doing some of these other cool project 365 ideas I have read about:

* making a new crock pot recipe every day                                                                                         *  photographing a stranger each day                                                                                                  *  painting/drawing/writing every day                                                                                                *  trying a new food every day                                                                                                              *  posting something about yourself every day                                                                                   *  weight loss/exercise/food choices                                                                                                   *  rainy day activities                                                                                                                              *  craft projects                                                                                                                                         *  daily interesting happenings from work (law, medicine, teaching, etc.)                                   *  funny things your child has said or done

The possibilities are endless really and, oh, how I would love to sink my teeth into quite a few of those but the reality is I am a single parent.  Who do I think I’m kidding?  Not happening.  Though I did consider doing each one for one month but that would take organization and planning and forethought, all of which I’m short on.  So, I have settled on blogging as much as possible (to include Coco tidbits, foods, recipes, crafts, etc.) and one with just photos (and a possible sentence or two) which could include food, crafts, strangers, etc.  I get that it’s much more fun/interesting/focused to choose one topic and will generate a hell of a lot more blog traffic but I can’t be limited like that right now.  It needs to be relatively simple to follow so I can have any chance of success.  And doing more writing and photography are two of my resolutions so it makes perfect sense.

So, follow along or check on me today and leave me some words of encouragement! 🙂

Again, you can find me blogging daily at Coconut Photo.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Project 365

  1. Heidi Faber says:

    Love your photos and your blog! Looks like you had a wonderful time at Coco Beach! I wish I had one of those fabulous paradises close by! Looking forward to more updates on your Asian adventure! =)

Kind words only, please! :)

