Rudy the Reindeer

Rudy the Reindeer came to visit! Who is Rudy? He is my daughter’s classroom mascot.  He is a stuffed reindeer and he goes home with each child for one week. The children are encouraged to have Rudy join them in all their regular activities and then record the visit with photos and pictures and text. As I was flipping through the book I thought to myself that the book was really cute and it was a fun project for all the stay-at-home moms!  I was feeling slightly intimidated, or maybe annoyed is a better word. Not that I couldn’t put together something cute –I do blog and scrapbook! –but, seriously, who has time?! But Coco was thrilled that her name was chosen and couldn’t wait to show him to me when I got home that night. She carefully took him out of his purple backpack and started playing cars with him.

                      

    

She introduced him to Ella and Neigh first, and then to all her friends. I snapped a few pictures and promptly forgot about him until the morning he was due back because the yaya is good for moving things around when she cleans and he was hidden away somewhere. I happened to spy the backpack as I rushing out the door to work and knew it was not an option to send the book back blank. Thankfully I had the presence of mind to print out the pictures at work earlier in the week so it was a mad dash around the apartment to find some scissors, glue, markers, stickers–anything at all to make it personalized from Coco. Now, trust me, I am all for supporting kids’ language and literacy development and I think it’s a great idea to have the children write in the accompanying book about Rudy’s visit, in theory. But in reality, it’s homework for me and I have enough to do! I don’t want homework!!

I pushed her breakfast bowl to the side and told her we had to get to work. I cut and pasted the photos on the page and wrote captions. Coco colored the blank spaces and added stickers.

She thought it was great fun but all I could think of was how I needed to get to work!  In the end, it turned out pretty cute (no time for a photo of the finished product) and she was proud to take it to school to show her friends.  Aw, look at that face!!

This entry was posted in Coco. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rudy the Reindeer

  1. Jessi says:

    Nice work! I thought about doing this with my class this year… I think its a super cute idea…. but parents already complain about completing the one page of homework a week… no one will want to do this too….

  2. Heidi Faber says:

    Wow! Great job Super Mom! She’s so gorgeous and getting to be so big! It’s easy to tell by the big smile on her face that she was happy with the finished product!

Kind words only, please! :)

