Sunday Dinner

I saw this recipe for Banana Breakfast Ice Cream a while back and I was looking forward to making it. It was a lovely Sunday morning here and I had the time and the ingredients so I tried making it. It was super easy and really good. Really. I modified it a bit by adding some coconut meat (gotta eat coconut as much as possible) and I subbed sunflower nut butter for the peanut butter.  As I was making it I had a realization. I never thought I would say this, but… I miss cooking! I already told the yaya she doesn’t need to cook for me anymore. Too much wasted food–it rots before she uses it, gets freezer burned because she forgets about it, it isn’t tasty or she makes way more than we can ever eat–plus, and I can’t keep track of the ingredients. We go through butter and eggs like nobody’s business and I need to get a handle on all the spending. So, for now I will resume the cooking duties (dinner only) and I am looking forward to it!  (I say that now, I know. Check back with me in a week! Ha!)

So, yeah, banana-chocolate-coconut-nutbutter ice cream! Took about 5 minutes and it was so much fun to make.  I especially liked knowing exactly what was in it. The popular ice cream brand here is full of chemicals, stabilizers and tartrazine (Ewwww!) and the good imported ones are exorbitantly priced. I’m very happy to have this version to make.

***Update***

While the ice cream was hardening in the freezer, I marinated some steak (grass-fed from New Zealand) in balsamic, olive oil, soy sauce, garlic, honey and spices and I made a homemade soup in my Vitamix with leftover veggies. I took some green cabbage, zucchini, spinach  and carrot and simmered them in some chicken stock. Then I threw in 3/4 can of coconut cream and turned off the heat.  Later I added some seasonings and threw it in the Vitamix. To keep it from getting to frothy and foamy after blending you can turn the Vitamix down to setting 1 and let it get out some of the air. When you see the vortex put in a little oil in the hole (I used coconut oil of course, hahaha) and problem solved! Reheat and serve. Coco loved the soup!

Then we had the coconut ice cream concoction for dessert. It was a good, healthy meal.

(note to self: learn how to stage and photograph food)

Now Coco is sleeping and I am enjoying some red wine and a couple of squares of   dark chocolate. Food-wise, today was a good day!

This entry was posted in health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Kind words only, please! :)

