Happy Valentine’s Day

(it was Show ‘n Tell Day at school today)

Happy Valentine’s Day! Yeah, I’m single and I don’t want to be single but I still love the holiday! It’s also my parents’ 60th wedding anniversary!! What a blessing. I wish I was home to celebrate with them. Valentine’s Day is one of my favorite holidays but, sadly, they don’t celebrate it here. I know, it’s a commercial Hallmark holiday but I love it! I really missed how fun the day is and sorry Coco didn’t get to experience it.  No making and handing out cards in her classroom today. No candy hearts or chocolate. No party. No flowers. No crafts! Boo! 😦

I decided I would do some projects with her at home. I always lament that I don’t have time to focus on holidays and art projects with Coco the way I want to. I woke up this morning regretting I didn’t have a heart-shaped meal for her at breakfast or have her room decorated with hearts! I keep saying I will do this-that-or-the-other when I become a stay-at-home-mom or when I hit the lottery or I don’t know some other excuse. But you know what? I am not a stay-at-home-mom and I have not (yet) hit the lottery and Coco is getting older by the day!  She is so young now and would LOVE all the hoopla and fun around holidays so I must. do. it. Now!! No more pussy-footing around! So I resolved that starting today I would make holidays more fun and incorporate art into our lives.

When Coco got home from the playground I told her after dinner we were going to do a project. She was so excited! While she was eating I made her this card:

After dinner I was going to give her the heart-shaped cookie I had gotten her but the salad dressing the yaya made for her was like pure honey.  Deciding she had had enough sugar for the evening, I pulled off the icing heart from the top of the cookie for her to eat and she was thrilled with that. Then I put out an assortment of colored paper, glue, scissors and markers and let Coco create. It was fun. If we get the house I am going to designate the middle room as our craft room/office and do art every week. Heck, maybe even every day! Yeah, and I will create a giant vision board in there along one whole wall where I will post inspirational quotes, photos and dreams.  Come to me house, come to me..  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Kind words only, please! :)

