A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Market

Actually, not on the way to the market, but at the market. You see, my weekend wasn’t going so great. I was missing home and feeling down, though uplifted by a good friend though an encouraging email. (Love ya, Kelly!) I woke up this morning feeling better and realized enough of the Manila bashing. I have made it pretty clear what I don’t like about living here and dwelling on it and complaining about it isn’t helping anything. I have another year here so I better start finding the positives!! So we went to Legaspi Market. (Ella came, too. :))

Legaspi Market is a large outdoor Sunday market. I rarely go to this outdoor market because I have a nice one right in my neighborhood with a larger food selection, but after going to Legaspi this morning I decided I actually like this one more. Like our neighborhood market it has organic produce, meats and eggs, areas where they sell essential oils and diffusers, nut butters and raw honey, baked goods and prepared meals, coconut oils and natural beauty products. But they also sell jewelry, clothing, candles, plants, furniture, fresh juices and they have live music.

Early this morning Coco and I went and it was great! I bought some organic, free-range chicken & grass-fed ground beef, organic strawberries & spinach, cold pressed virgin coconut oil, lavender oil, all natural insect repellent and we shared a fresh juice. It was really nice. But the best part happened as we were about to leave. I spied through the gate a man giving a massage. I was going to keep walking because Coco was ready to leave but after looking at his card and seeing he specialized in Ayurveda I headed back in to chat him up. Admittedly I don’t know much about Ayurveda but I have been on the search for someone who is trained in massage and I figured he just might be the answer. I went back in and chatted with him and decided to get a 15 minute test-massage. I sat Coco down with a pint of strawberries (she was more interested in the ants) and let him get to work. Let me tell you, I think I’ve struck gold! I told him my shoulder was bothering me. When he started massaging it he immediately identified it as the right shoulder and said it was because I have a pinched nerve. He said I have carpal tunnel and told me I need to start doing hand exercises to keep it from getting worse. He found my sciatic pain, too. I was impressed. “My hands are like an x-ray,” he joked. He also said he could teach me how to breathe because according to him I have “weak lungs”. After 15 minutes I was sold and booked him for this Tuesday night at 7:00. 1000P for an hour an a half? Absolutely!

I left there feeling so positive, like as long as I put in an effort I will continue to find things to do and people I like here. I need focus on that. It’s not all bad. Then when we got home I made some homemade (dairy-free) ice cream* and both of us were very happy!

* Banana-Chocoloate ice cream (non-dairy)

Freeze a banana overnight. When frozen place it in a blender with about 1/2 cup of almond milk and 4T or so of cocoa powder. Blend. That’s it! All amounts are approximate. You can add more or less to suit your taste– vary it as you like. You might want to use regular milk or add some vanilla, nut butter or some frozen berries. You may want to try yogurt, too, instead of milk. Very yummy and guilt-free. Try it and tell me what you think!

This entry was posted in expat living, health and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Market

  1. Jessi says:

    yummmm. will try. is that a pinterest recipe? 🙂

Kind words only, please! :)

