Resolutions Update – April

1. Sign Coco up for ballet lessons Done! πŸ™‚

2. Sign myself up for tennis lessons – not yet

3. Put $1000 in emergency fund – Done! πŸ™‚

4. Pay off Amex Done!!! πŸ™‚

5. Pay my Mom back – not yet

6. Create some daily/weekly/monthly family rituals – Done! πŸ™‚ Some that we already have in place are praying before meals, eating meals together at the table and I read her books every night in bed and praying before bedtime. The newest one I have implemented is: Sunday is hair day. I came up with many more which I blogged about here.

7. Create 3 photo books of important events – not yet

8. Lose 10 poundsΒ  – I have no clue! The scale at work is broken. But, two people this week called me “skinny.” Skinny?! Skinny???! Yes, I have lost weight. The clothes I had taken in when I moved here are all loose again. Now, true, I did get a wicked case of food poisoning so that has something to do with it. It was so bad that I had to take two days off from work. Everything I ate in April rapidly left my system. So yeah, I have lost weight – just not sure how much.

9. Back up all photos in two or more places – backed up thru March 2012 on a hard drive

10. Read camera manual – no, but I pinned a couple of DSLR tutorials, located my manual and bought a photo book from a colleague who is moving back to the States πŸ™‚

11. Make Coco’s lifebook – nope

12. Pay Visa $10,000 – paid $5000! – Halfway there!!! Woot!

13. Complete a 30-Day Paleo Challenge -not yet, 2 false starts- but diet is really clean

14. Take Coco to (Hong Kong) Disneyland – not yet

15. Teach Coco how to spell and write her name, count to 20 orally and count to 10 with 1:1 correspondence – She can count to 20 but she skips 15 each time! Other things? We’re working on them but I bought her a “Leap Frogg” to help in my absence.Β  πŸ™‚Β  I should point out though that it is not that I am some sort of Tiger Mom ala Amy Chua. Not at all. And I am not against her school’s play-based curriculum– especially for preschool. But Coco is ready to learn more. She is a sponge. She asks me all the time what things say and she likes to practice writing letters. If she were being taught these things in school she would probably know all her letters and sounds by now, be able to write her name and simple sight words. She knew all her letters and most of her sounds when she had just turned two from her old school. Their focus was in a different place (and not necessarily in a better place). Her school here focuses on behaviors and dispositions and oral communication skills so she has forgotten all she had learned. They claim the research states that it’s the kids with higher vocabularies at an early age who have greater success in reading and in school in general, not those who learn to read first. I’m not arguing with the research (it’s not like I’ve conducted any!) but I don’t see a problem with teaching kids to read who show an interest. And it would have been really cool to say my three year old knew how to read! πŸ™‚ If she had had daily exposure this year, even in a very informal way, she probably would have learned. That bothers me, I’m not going to lie. But on the other hand she does have a pretty well-developed vocabulary and yes, she is still only three. She has a many, many years of formal schooling ahead. But no harm in mommy stepping in to play a few letter and number games, right? πŸ™‚ And it was validated when after a minute or two of playing it the first time she looked up and me smiling and said, “I like this game!”Β  Yep, games are games even if you are learning! πŸ™‚

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Year-Long Goals:

1. Reduce sugar, flour, caffeine, and processed foods – doing really well here!

2. Make working out a habit (yoga, tapes, tennis and/or kettlebells) – nada 😦

3. Be asleep by 10 pm – terrible..I’m so productive after Coco goes to sleep!

4. Post a photo for every day of 2012 at www.coconutphoto.wordpress.com and 2x week or more on Joy and Coconut – doing okay here but it is time consuming

5.Β Eat some form of coconut or apple cider vinegar daily – just about! πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in finances, health, Joy. Bookmark the permalink.

Kind words only, please! :)

