I Miss Blogging!!!

..so here are my options so I can get back in the saddle:

1. Sit my ass down and find the photos from all of the previous posts in my 30,000 pictures in iPhoto, upload them one at a time to picresize dot com, go into each post and delete the photos and upload the new ones (and hope it doesn’t mess up the alignment) Β Β  Pros? I can keep my URL and continue blogging here and I’ll learn how to resize photos Cons? Many, many, many hours needed–probably WEEKS and WEEKS

2. Write a final post on this blog of one year with a link to the new blog and start fresh Pros? I can set up a new blog in seconds and keep on trucking and I don’t need to learn anything new regarding photo resizing (and when it fills up again this time next year I will need to and start another blog then, too!) Cons? I will lose followers, I will lose my URL

3. Find/pay/beg someone to resize my photos for me

4. Start blogging again at Blogger where I never had this photo issue Pros?Β I can set up a new blog in seconds and keep on trucking and I don’t need to learn anything new regarding photo resizing Cons? I will miss the benefits of WordPress like private & password protected posts, replying directly to specific comments and the daily stats, and my mother will miss months of future posts while she figures out how to find me on Blogger (it took her about 6 months to figure out WordPress! Hi, Mom! Luv you! ;-))

5. Start a new blog on either WordPress or Blogger and quit blogging publicly so followers, stats, privacy and stats don’t matter

Which of these makes the most sense? What would you do if you were me?

I’m leaning towards having two blogs. I would start a new personal blog about me and Coco on a new URL for friends, family (and possibly committed followers) and mark it private. I would transfer all of the personal posts– finances, health, work, adoption, etc. from this blog to the new one (when I have the time) and continue from where I left off. Then this present blog could retain the URL and followers but it would become less personal with fewer photos and focus on a being a single parent living and traveling abroad. Both of these options do require learning about photo resizing at some point but it would be at a slower, more acceptable pace.

Did I miss any other options? What do you think of my plans?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to I Miss Blogging!!!

  1. Robyn says:

    Are you using a mac or pc? If it is a pc I can send you a free software program that you install and then you just right click and tell it to resize the photo. It has saved me tons of work and loads of time. Let me know πŸ™‚ I miss reading your blog and seeing photos of you two!

  2. Kris says:

    I’ve loved reading your blog because you keep it real! I’ve been reading since before you brought Coco home. You’re an inspiration to those of us considering single parent adoption πŸ™‚ As far as the blog is concerned, go for what’s easiest for you and enjoy the rest of your summer. I’m a teacher also and we’re down to our last 3 weeks of summer. I hope I’m able to continue following you. Thanks for sharing with us!

    • Joy says:

      thanks, kris. i am still in limbo.. if i start a new blog what do i call it? and do i keep this one as the personal one or turn it into the new one? lol. too much for my brain which is still in vacation mode. we’ve only got 2 weeks left so i will squeeze every last bit of summer fun out of it!

  3. Melissa says:

    I love reading your blog, though you have no clue as to who I am I enjoy living vicariously through you as you face new adventures. Because of your blog I started drinking coconut water πŸ˜‰ which I am thankful for since it’s so much better than sodas and sugary juices. Do what ever is easiet, I’ll follow you either way and I’m sure others will as well.

  4. Robin says:

    I am a faithful follower. You gave me hope that a single could adopt and make it work. I am still thinking really hard about the process and when to get started. It is also nice to know a fellow person from Pgh is doing well. Don’t stop blogging and include me . I miss reading your old blog also. Robin(Dootaboot)

  5. Megan says:

    Is there an option to pay for extra space. It is nice to have everything on one blog. Depending on how much it is vs. the time it might be a better option.

    I do understand if you go private. I however have really enjoyed your journey since before Coco joined your family. I really enjoy seeing her grow and hearing her sucesses. You have many well wishers out here that continue to wish you happiness and health no matter what.

    • Joy says:

      i’m cheap, LOL, so that’s probably out though it is a good suggestion. thanks for reading and the good wishes megan! πŸ™‚

  6. Annie says:

    New blog all the way, resizing sounds waaaaaaaay too hard!!
    I’d definitely miss your updates!

  7. zoya7 says:

    I would miss you if youΒ΄d stop blogging!
    I suggest option number 2!

    • Joy says:

      it’s looking like that zoya7!

      • zoya7 says:

        Yeah! Glad to hear that!
        ps- still hoping youΒ΄d move to Italy πŸ˜‰

      • Joy says:

        italy is in my top 5!! where do you live? do tell the pros and cons!

      • zoya7 says:

        i dont know why i cant replay to post below! anyway…
        i am from slovenia, small country next ti italy. i think i wrote someting about it in the past about school sistem in my country and how teachers have very good schedule here…
        pros and cons? i dont know πŸ™‚ but italy is definately a beautiful country, lot of things to see, freat icecream :), and maybe we would meet someday if you’ll be so close πŸ˜€

      • Joy says:

        italy is in my top 5 so it’s a possibility!

  8. kellycamille says:

    Definitely do the new blog. You can keep up w the old one at your pace (and not desert your trusty followers) and still explore new ideas, topics and pick up new trusty followers in a perhaps more adult (?) blog. Not adult as in risquΓ©, adult as in not about kiddies and ballet lessons and hello kitty. Family types could get all that in the current (old) blog and folks more interested in travel, financial issues, expat life, etc can tune into the new channel.

    Of course, you can still include some parenting commentary on the new site, but that would not be its purpose or aim. And include a link to the new blog on the old one so those who want to can find you.

    As for all that resizing, yuck! Fageddaboudit! Start fresh and don’t look back.

    • Joy says:

      i’m excited to start the new (refocused) blog. it’s going to be fun! (and, yeah, resizing is not fun so if i can completely avoid it i will!). like shannon said i think i need to just adjust my settings, post a new link and keep it moving. i’m at the point now of trying to figure out if i should keep this as the personal and starting fresh with the expat blog or vice versa.

  9. Laurie says:

    I’m with June, do whatever is easiest for you- you have enough on your plate;-) Whatever way you choose, I hope I’m able to follow along on your adventures but certainly understand if you choose to go private. Enjoy the rest of your vacation! I finish my summer break in two weeks. Then it’s back to the real world for this adoptive mom and teenage daughter!! And as the mom to a fourteen year old, enjoy your little girl. Life goes by so quickly- it’s so important to enjoy every second of it, isn’t it?!

  10. vitaminknb says:

    For what its worth, options 2 and 4 seem like the lowest maintenance and would likely choose one of those if I were in your shoes. But I agree with the others, go with whatever is easiest for you! Just post a link for those of us who follow you to continue to follow. The last part is purely selfish, πŸ™‚ so feel free to ignore, as I totally respect your need for privacy if thats how you go.

    but for what its worth, I appreciate you sharing so much of your journey thus far (I was following you long before your precious little girl came to your world)….it has helped me forge onward as I figured out my own adoption journey as a single mama myself.

    • Joy says:

      you are right and i totally agree! #1 is definitely out at least!! πŸ™‚ wow, you’ve been following since before Coco came home? wow, that is so nice to read. i’m so glad the blog was helpful for you in your journey and the stress and chaos didn’t deter you! πŸ™‚ … wait maybe it did! LOL well, either way, thanks for being a long time reader!

  11. shannoncl says:

    OK. How are you uploading them here? What are the settings on your camera? For most of us, we don’t need the default setting which is usually the largest size. You may want it if you one day want to blow a picture up to gigantic poster size… barring that, turn down the setting on your camera. This is sometimes labor intensive but I’ve never had an issue… when I want to load a pict to the blog, I choose to export it from iphoto onto my desktop or temporary folder (doing this you can choose quality and size. I generally use max quality and large size rather than original). Then I upload it from the blog site. I can then just delete the desktop copy. I know there must be an easier way, but I don’t know it.

    Also, I know wordpress has different ‘types’ or ‘levels’ of membership. if you upped your membership to the next level would it change?

    • Joy says:

      yes, shannon, i realized that the settings were on the largest so i turned down the settings on my point and shoot to test it but i wasn’t sure how that would look on the blog. if it’s as easy as that i am golden for the new blog though that doesn’t help me with the current issue. thanks for the tip on the way to upload to the blog!

  12. June says:

    I say do what you will find easiest. You seem like you have a very full life and want to maximize time with your daughter in your free moments. A large chunk of time to resize photos might not mesh with that. As a foster mom hoping to adopt who’s only had her daughter for three months, I find reading about your adventures incredibly inspiring. I’d miss reading if you went private only (but would certainly respect that if you felt compelled to do so).

    • Joy says:

      yes, june, easy is key– time is not what i have unlimited amounts of! congrats on being a mommy!! i wish you loads of luck on the adoption! πŸ™‚

  13. De says:

    I missed you when you stopped for awhile and I enjoy reading about your goals and plans. But I know nothing about the technology of WordPress vs. blogger. I just type and publish, but I tend to be low tech. I would be a committed follower if you moved… I know that probably does not help any, but it’s my 2 cents.

Kind words only, please! :)

